School of Rock-Week 8-Melody

CC image Music Was My Refuge by Cindy Mc at Flickr

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. – Maya Angelou

SUMMARY

  • I learned more on how to play chords this week.
  • I am practicing my scales and using the guitar as my voice.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • Notes aren’t all the same
  • Some are higher, some are lower
  • There are different kinds of scales: pentetonic, major, minor, sharp scales
  • There is a lot of history on how different modes came from different places.
  • Pitch has changed over time
  • How to bend notes.
  • Most notes have a ladder

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I learned how to put notes on the hook theory. If the notes start low, then they should go up

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend a total of 35 minutes in this ‘room.’
  • Then, go for a 15-minute walk outside and think about what she said, if you can safely
  • Write anything you found interesting and useful in your reflection
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *